Monday, July 12, 2010

New Trademarks Committee Chair

David Mertz has been appointed Chair of the PSF's Trademarks Committee for 2010-2011.

The use of all trademarks is governed by specific legal requirements. Those rules apply to trademarks for open source software projects such as Python, just as they do for commercial products. Failure to meet the requirements may result in the loss of the trademark, so the PSF takes this responsibility seriously.

The Trademarks Committee is responsible for assessing the use of PSF trademarks for compliance with our policies and advising the Board if questions arise. Most requests are related to the use of the name "Python" or the official logo by groups or conferences promoting Python. When the use is appropriate and the logo is unaltered, permission is usually easy to grant.

Other members of the committee are:

  • David Goodger
  • Marc-AndrĂ© Lemburg
  • Van Lindberg
  • Doug Napoleone
  • James Tauber
  • Trevor Toenjes

Besides the regular members of the committee, Carl Tracthe and Gloria Willadsen have acted as advisors at the request of the Chair.